Well, it’s been a really nice trip over the last few weeks, but we seem to have reached a turning point: we don’t have submissions to go on with a daily post, so some changes are needed. Experience has proven it too ambitious, but I think it was worth a try.

The idea for the blog is good, and I can say this with some detachment because it was not mine, but my brother’s. It is good enough to move people from around the world to send in their works (thank you); even a kind soul was inspired to design us a header just for the sake of it… (thank you) And we have enjoyed some very nice exposure, including of course Neatorama (the first, and what first), Ze Frank (the one I am most proud of), and a good bunch of other blogs and even video blogs. So what happened?

I read on a post a couple of days ago that this was a blog about what people used to do before the Internet, and it is very true that with Internet access in the workplace the amount of time dedicated to artistic creation has gone down drastically. I can quote no studies on the matter, but as my father says, what is evident needs no demonstration.

But that’s only a partial explanation, and also an easy excuse. I have no doubt that another cause of this situation was poor execution, and as you probably noticed already there has been quite a bit of that. Looking back there are things that we should have done differently. There has been some technical limitations, or rather limitations due to our ignorance of technical issues. And there is of course the eternal question How do I get people to ________? In our case send in pictures of their artwork.

I honestly don’t know, but all suggestions are very welcome.

So where are we going from here? I don’t think it is realistic to commit to any periodicity. For the time being we will go back to the pre-Neatorama origins and keep posting as often as the submissions allow it.

~`ยด~

Just one last daily post that might make someone happy. I didn’t intend to use this submission as it is not what the blog is about, but there’s no need to take it so seriously.

From the email:

Hi
My name is Heather Mack and I am 8 years old. I am good at artwork. I would like to share my creation with you.
Thanks.

Having fun at the beach

Author: Heather, Charlottesville,VA. USA.

Title: Having fun at the beach

AWftWP: Well, it looks like someone is ready to enter the job market. Heather, run for your life! No, well, it’s not that bad. It is just… well, boring.

